Music education

Hey guys, I really want to ask you about something. I was thinking about my musical knowledge and the truth is, I don’t have any notion about this, I don’t know what you mean by harmonization or many other terminologies.

So, since I am self-taught and I like to read books, I was wondering if you guys know any bibliography to start educating myself in this aspect, that you can recommend me.

Thank you

Hey :slight_smile: I think you might enjoy Charles Cornel’s course, he is a YouTube content creator and has launched something lately. I’m not sure if it contains what you are looking for but there is a community like this one that I forgot I was going to join too (thanks for reminding) and his content is turbo valuable and teaching in my opinion :slight_smile:

I’d love to hear others’ ideas, seeking something to expand basic knowledge myself!

Edit: I see you asked for books, then you should look up any kind of solfeggio to exercise getting a grip on notes (it does help in a long run if you like to imagine music visually in a logical way, e.g. with rhythm and harmonies).
Also according to me a piano is the best instrument to understand what you are reading in practice while you study theory.

2 Likes

Thank you so much! :blush:

1 Like

Aside from a guitar lesson or two back in Middle School, I’ve got no music education whatsoever. It can be frustrating at times, like now I’m learning saxophone and have to start from like nothing, but it’s also not been a huge problem.

I experiment with a lot, trying to find out what I don’t know, and then reading as much as I can. It’s so helpful to know what you’re looking for, rather than trying to figure out where to start with a topic. Right now, I’m reading up on typographical kerning, trying to understand all I can. Dry stuff.